2018 WSOP Possible Reaction to Outrage, POY Scoring System Tweaked Over Chris Ferguson 2017 Win

The WSOP POY (Player of the Year) scoring system is getting adjusted after widespread complaints over last year’s ROI-based format which assisted its winner, Chris Ferguson, rack up so many factors. The Caesars Entertainment-owned poker brand could have responded to customer feedback, and has announced changes to its scoring system.

Chris Ferguson WSOP POY

Chris Ferguson is the reigning WSOP Player of the Year (POY) and all the poker lovers who hate him will have to stare at his mug on the wall at the Rio all summer long. (Image: codigopoker.com)

That “ROI” conclusion for any specific player included factors like event buy-ins vs. final cashes, GPI ranks, number of tournament entrants per event, and WSOPE cashes.

Pointing Out Jesus

If fury over Ferguson winning POY last year had anything to do with the changes it is unclear. The man who goes by the nickname “Jesus” still has not apologized or publicly accepted responsibility for his role in the infamous 2011 Black Friday scandal at Full Tilt Poker.

A WSOP press release explained the adjusted formula will “better reward bracelet winners and players who run deep, while still rewarding consistency.”

The press release noted the new format is based on the point system.

Min-Cash in Large-Field Vs. Win in Small-Field

Through the 2017 WSOP, series grinder Daniel Negreanu and others always complained that gamers enjoy Ferguson were getting too many POY points for small and min-cashes in large field events, while those who made heavy runs in the $10,000 buy-in tournaments — which had fewer players –were not earning points on an equal footing.

Most were of the variety, although Ferguson racked up a total of 17 cashes tying a series record. Despite making two final table appearances and not winning a bracelet, Jesus ended the summer with the POY lead.

He added another six cashes in EU, setting a single-year record, with 23 overall, and finally won a bracelet in a $1,650 PLO tournament — albeit just for $39,289 ($47,225) — to secure the 2017 POY title.

Poker players voiced their displeasure with the POY name of Ferguson on social media. The sting of his role in the 2011 FTP scandal, and refusal to apologize, has lingered and festered. But if the Series had implemented its current system in 2017, Ferguson still would have won according to the press release.

The new formula won’t give players like Ferguson as credit for min-cashes and will better reward winners.

The latter was a complaint from Negreanu throughout the 2017 series. He argued that the $10,000 buy events — tournaments which, except for the Main Event have fewer than 200 entries — are more challenging win compared to the events which attract thousands of gamers, play, and to survive.

Negreanu, the only two-time WSOP Player of the Year (2004 and 2013), felt those who played with the high rollers were slighted by the ROI-based POY scoring system.

More points will be awarded for winning and making a table in $10,000 buy-in tournaments, and min-cashers in the events that are buy-in that are lesser won’t get as much credit as they did in 2017.

Additionally, six of the 78 bracelet events won’t count towards Player of the Year.


Event #1, $565 Casino Employees No-Limit Hold’emEvent #32, $1,000 Seniors No-Limit Hold’emEvent #36, Super Seniors No-Limit Hold’emEvent #55, $1,000 Tag Team No-Limit Hold’emEvent #57, $1,000/$10,000 Ladies EventEvent #78, $1,000,000 Big One for One Drop

May 29, the WSOP kicks off. Players who have a distaste for Chris Ferguson might have to stare at his picture on the wall, along with the other 13 POY winners at the Rio Convention Center.

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *